How fast is too fast?

IMG_2227

What is the fastest you feel comfortable driving? To me it depends on the vehicle. In my current car I can look down and not realize that I’m going 90mph because of the smoothness. However, in my 1991 Honda Civic I got up to 120mph and it felt like the paint was shaking off. Sometimes keeping up with the flow of traffic even feels dangerous.

Typically I hover around 75 to 80mph, but there is always that one guy who’s in a hurry. I mean, I’m going 90mph and they are right there on my bumper. I can’t even see their headlights. That is, until they start swerving over the lines to get my attention in the side mirrors that I’m going too slow for them. I’m getting to the point where I move to the far right hand lane and set the cruise control and enjoy the increased gas mileage. It’s a bonus if you can draft behind a 18 wheeler.

Those dreams are dashed as soon as you run up on someone doing 10 mph under. Then you have to release the cruise control and manually work the gas pedals and try to merge into the concrete jet stream of cars so you can get back to your coefficient drag.

Leave a Reply

