Kids at the concession stand

Recently, at the movies, I was getting a few overpriced snacks to finish during the previews. Because really, who waits on the movie to polish off a tub of popcorn. They do this so you will go back out and get more snacks. Anyway, I try to pick the shortest line but it never works out. I spotted a line with 4 kids and I assumed they were with an adult. To my delight, I saw that each child had their own ziplock bag of money and instead of what I thought was 1 parent and 1 transaction, now turned into 4 transactions. At this point, all the other lines had snaked into a j-shape so there was no turning back now.

To make it even better, none of the kids could do simple addition so they didn’t know how much money to give the cashier. Thankfully the cashier was able to the math. I’m all for teaching kids that paper and coin money is a real thing to be earned and spent, but since movie theaters won’t let you pause the movie, do us all a favor and teach that lesson somewhere else. Kids are useful to haul away the goodies but not to partake in a bartering session.

Leave a Reply

